The October Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upHello, all. How are things? Here in Atlanta, it’s blustery and cold for the first day of the new month. We had rain all night last night which luckily held off long enough for the girls to get their trick or treating done. They had a blast.

I’ve been pretty busy this past month, helping out with activities at the girls’ school and other volunteer opportunities. Since it doesn’t look like I’m going back to work right away, I took on the job of co-chair of our school book fair and I’m also going to be volunteering at our local library. Both should give me a chance to get my book fix while staying busy and feeling useful.

October passed in a flash for me, but luckily I managed to get some good reading done (a big improvement over September!) In October, I read six books:

  1. Faithless by Karin Slaughter
  2. Written in Red by Anne Bishop
  3. Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop
  4. Cop Town by Karin Slaughter
  5. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
  6. Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

As you can see, I didn’t actually manage to review any of these, but it was a read-whatever-I-want kind of month and I enjoyed it thoroughly. If you’re a fan of supernatural/dystopian fiction similar to Kelley Armstrong’s work, I would definitely recommend the books by Anne Bishop. Those were probably my favorite reads this month.

So what’s new for November? Well, I’m participating in Nonfiction November, co-hosted by a lot of fun people. I’ve got a couple of nonfiction choices already lined up and I’ll be highlighting those in a post later this week. I also have one book tour stop planned, which should give me a chance to dip my toes back in the reviewing pond.

But most time-consuming of all….it’s Nanowrimo! Anybody else gearing up to write, write, write this month? This will be my fifth year participating and although I’ve never won, I have a feeling this just might be my year.

What about you? What do you have lined up for the month of November?

10 thoughts on “The October Wrap-Up

  1. stephaniesbookreviews

    I love Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent series, but haven’t read her Grant County series yet. And Attachments is one of my favorite books!
    I’m doing NaNo for the first time this year. I went to the kick off event this afternoon and got a little over 1900 words down!

    Reply
  2. Laurie C

    I did a lot of reading, but not a lot of reviewing, too! Every year I start hearing about NaNoWriMo in the fall and every year I think about signing up, but I never do. Good luck!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Laurie, you should! Even on years where I don’t get much written, I feel good for having given it a shot, and it usually jumpstarts my creative process.

      Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Maggie, they are both good reads–definitely recommended. I had a few issues with the female characters in Attachments and the resolution, but really enjoyed it overall. Someday, Someday Maybe is definitely light and fluffy but I liked it, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

