Book Pairings

book-pairingsI’ve had this idea running around in my mind for a while, but I don’t *think* I’ve ever talked about it here before. There should be a “You Know You’ve Been Blogging For Too Long When…” type support group. In this case, you know you’ve been blogging for too long when you’re not sure if you’ve already blogged about a particular topic or not. Or maybe that’s a subject for the “You Know You’re Getting Old and Probably Have Early Stage Alzheimer’s When…” support group. I need to join that one, too.

Anyway. Since my focus this month is on non-fiction reading, I was thinking about how well fiction and non-fiction go together. Often when I’m reading a fiction book it will inspire me to read non-fiction so that I can learn more about a particular subject. Does anyone else do this? For example, when I read a book set in a particular time period that I don’t know much about, it can lead to me reading non-fiction works about that time in history because I want to understand it better.

Sometimes it works the other way, too. Just this week I started reading Liar Temptress Soldier Spy by Karen Abbott (so far SO good), and so when I read the summary of Neverhome by Laird Hunt in a book catalog I receive, I knew they were a match made in heaven. So far, it’s amazing as well–I’ve already gotten teary-eyed and I’m only on the first 20 pages.

What about you? Do you ever read fiction and non-fiction pairings to deepen your reading experience? Any particular pairings you would recommend?

3 thoughts on “Book Pairings

  1. Letizia

    That’s a good idea. I’m sort of doing that right now as I’m reading Pablo Neruda’s memoirs and also rereading his poetry at the same time. Not exactly the same thing, but similar.

    And I know what you mean about wondering if you’ve already blogged about something – that really made me laugh!

    Reply
  2. My Book Strings

    I like the idea of reading in pairs, and I’ve done it a few times. Usually though, the timing doesn’t work out well for me. I find a nonfiction book that sounds really interesting, jot down the title, and then never get around to getting the book. I had the same idea about pairing Neverhome with Liar Temptress Soldier Spy. Glad to hear it’s working well for you so far.

    Reply
  3. Bree @The Things We Read

    I love when fiction makes me learn and want to learn more guiding me to non-fiction books. Its a win-win situation. My latest desires for pairing are Between Shades of Grey and learning about Stalin and The Lost Crown and learning about the Romanovs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

