Nonfiction November: Diversity

cork w booksI’m trying to get my post up earlier this week–yay for Monday morning, um, afternoon! This week’s topic, hosted by Becca at I’m Lost in Books, is diversity in nonfiction writing.

Diversity and Nonfiction: What does “diversity” in books mean to you? Does it refer to book’s location or subject matter? Or is it the author’s nationality or background? What countries/cultures do you tend to enjoy or read about most in your nonfiction? What countries/cultures would you like nonfiction recommendations for?

Diversity in books is something I’ve given quite a bit of thought to mainly because I feel like my reading isn’t diverse enough. It’s something that I’ve gotten better about since I started a book blog, though, because the more I keep track of what I’m reading, the more aware I am of the choices I make. To me, diversity means reading across genres as well as reading books that present different world views. I love reading about people and places that I know nothing about and opening myself up to an author’s/narrator’s point of view. However, I will say that I’m not completely open-minded when it comes to choosing a book; I’m not interested in reading the work of someone whose political or religious ideology is distasteful to me. Life is too short.

I particularly enjoy reading books about Africa and Asia, because the foreign-ness of those cultures is fascinating to me. I’m also interested in Eastern religions like Hinduism and Buddhism and so enjoy delving into works that reflect those philosophies. I think it comes down to what I have an affinity for, although I’m open to reading about other people and places as well. I prefer to read books that are written by natives to the places they write about, even as an outsider’s point of view can be interesting, too. See, diversity! 🙂

I would love to have further recommendations for nonfiction works about Africa and Nigeria in particular.

What about you? Do you read “diversely”? What does the term mean to you?

6 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: Diversity

  1. Jess - A Book Hoarder

    Somehow I’ve done the opposite from you and I think my reading has gotten more narrow since I started blogging. It is something I am now working to change. I agree with you about reading books that you know you are going to inherently disagree with. Life’s too short.

    Reply
  2. Becca Lostinbooks

    My reading has definitely broadened since beginning blogging. I used to be such a SNOB. No kidding! Now I read almost anything and, like you, keeping track of what I read has helped me see more of what kind of books I read a lot of.
    I recommend A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah. Looking through my list I realize that this is the only NF I’ve read in Africa. Seems odd because I’ve read several fiction books there.

    Reply
  3. Jay

    You might find Tim Crother’s “The Queen of Katwe” interesting. It’s about a young girl living in abject poverty in the slums of Kampala, Uganda, who finds a way out when she becomes something of a chess prodigy. (You don’t really need to know anything about chess to enjoy it – I actually don’t think the author knows much about chess either 🙂 )
    -Jay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

