The November Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-up

December already–how did that happen? This year needs to slow the heck down as I am so not ready for it to be Christmas yet. Do you hear me, 2014? Brake!

November was a nice month. I enjoyed participating in Nonfiction November and starting my volunteering job at the local library. We discovered some local parks and walking trails and I even managed to get my husband to try a yoga class (score!)

I’m trying to remember that while I want to feel settled and integrated here in our new home, I don’t want it to be at the price of becoming too busy. Thus my hope is that December will be a bit slower than November–although looking at our calendar shows this will be a challenge.

On the reading front, I got off to a slow start but caught up some towards the end of the month. In November, I read:

Fog Island Mountains by Michelle Bailat-Jones

Beyond Reach by Karin Slaughter

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I also read parts of two other books, both non-fiction for Nonfiction November, but I didn’t get a chance to finish them so they don’t count towards my monthly total. The first is a slow-going memoir that I am only reading a little of before bed each night, and the other is an interesting (so far) history book that I had to return to the library. Hopefully I’ll be able to check it out again soon.

My favorite book of the month was probably Beyond Reach, mainly because it’s the last book in the Grant County series and Slaughter really outdoes herself with the finale. Even though I knew what was going to happen because I’ve read her later books, it was still shocking and touching. So sad. I was a bit disappointed in Landline because I’ve loved everything else that Rowell has written, but this one just didn’t do it for me.

I’ve got two books to read for review this month and I’m planning to take part in an edX course about Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (my standard holiday re-read), so that should be fun. I’ve also got quite a few books out from the library which I’ll highlight in next week’s Library Loot post. Needless to say, now that I spend even more time at the library, my TBR list only continues to grow. 🙂

I hope everyone who celebrated this past week had a lovely Thanksgiving and I’m wishing you all a peaceful month as we wind down this year. Happy reading in December!

4 thoughts on “The November Wrap-Up

  1. Maggie @ macarons & paperbacks

    I also read Landline earlier this year but I really liked it, although not as much as Attachments, which is my favorite novel by Rainbow Rowell (I haven’t read Eleanor & Park yet though). Which of her books have you read? I prefer her adult fiction to her YA books. I was disappointed with Fangirl and I still hate to admit that because SO many people love it. We all have different tastes, obviously 🙂

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’ve read all her other works and loved them, but this one just didn’t seem to have any point to me. Maybe it’s because I have a hard time believing she would want to spend hours on the phone talking to her husband of 14 years…I’ve been married the same length of time and I just don’t buy it. But it’s certainly a romantic idea. 😉

      Reply
  2. Geoff W

    YAY Yoga! And I know what you mean about it being too busy. I’m desperate for a break and I just had a five day one and thankfully two of the days were completely blisffully empty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

