Library Loot: December 3 – 9

badge-4Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

 I’m trying really hard to reign it in at the library these days because I just don’t have time to finish everything I check out. It’s really hard, though, especially as there are so many books I need to catch up on after 10 years of limited library access in France.

The loot for this week:

???????????????????????????????

I’ve got a lot of YA this week, which is unusual for me, but two of them are from authors I’ve read and enjoyed before so they’re pretty safe bets.

1. Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller – I read Doller’s first book, Something Like Normal, on the recommendation of a friend and was impressed with her writing. She technically writes New Adult more than YA, but I guess my library doesn’t make the distinction (the little TH sticker means ‘Teen High School’–tips from a library volunteer). 😉

2. Countdown by Deborah Wiles – I actually got this one to share with my oldest daughter, but I wanted to read it first. It’s the first book in a trilogy about the 1960’s, which sounded cool to me.

3. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – I talked about this book in my Teaser Tuesday post yesterday, but it’s the sophomore effort by a writer whose work I admire. If you’re looking for some very unique and beautifully written YA, Nelson is a good choice.

4. The Family Fortune by Laurie Horowitz – A modern-day retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion. I saw this one highlighted in a book catalog I receive and knew I had to read it.

5. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Col. Chris Hadfield – a re-loot from Nonfiction November that I haven’t had time to read yet.

What are you reading this week? Any good ‘loot’ from your local library?

10 thoughts on “Library Loot: December 3 – 9

  1. Shaina

    Awesome loot!

    I’ve only got two library books out right now, which is unusually low for me, but I’m pretty proud of the latest one I checked out. I was the first reader to check out Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie — I think I may be more excited by the fact that I’m the first and only check-out stamp in the front than I am for the book itself!

    I’m also reading Ivanhoe for the Classics Club.

    Happy reading!

    Reply
  2. Madame Vauquer

    I’ve heard about Hadfield’s book and am interested in that one for sure.

    The two I grabbed this week are White Fire by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child and Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris.

    Reply
  3. Bree @The Things We Read

    I’m going to have to look into #1 and 2. I love that you are going to read the same book as your daughter. My daughter and I would do that occasionally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

