Weekend Cooking: Party in My Mouth Meal

Yes, this is all there was left the next day. And my husband ate all the almonds out of the mashed cauliflower.

Yes, this is all that was left over. Plus my husband ate all the almonds out of the mashed cauliflower, so you’ll have to imagine them being there, looking (and tasting) so fine.

OMG. I made a meal this week that started out as just a regular weekday meal and became something so unexpectedly good that I’m still smacking my lips. I don’t even have a proper photo to show you here because we ate it so fast that all you get is my plate of leftovers. This is all that was left after the four of us finished chowing down, and I had to make some extra kale salad because we polished the first batch off completely.

If you read this blog regularly (hello, regular readers! I love you!!) then you’ll know I’m big on fresh, real food. I don’t count calories and the words “low-fat” are rarely uttered around here (we prefer the words “heavy cream”). So while this may not be on anyone’s diet, it’s a healthy, seasonal, and delicious meal that would even be fancy enough to serve for the holidays. Although I found all three recipes at different times and places, the flavors go together really well–so well that we were oohing and ahhing at the dinner table. A total party in your mouth.

The winning combination is…

Man-Pleasing Chicken + Mashed Cauliflower with Hazelnut Brown Butter + The Ultimate Kale Salad

Recipe 1: Man-Pleasing Chicken

I kind of hate the title of this recipe because it reminds me of my mother-in-law, who once infamously told me after a meal that I didn’t “make enough food to feed a man”. Let’s call it ‘Humankind-Pleasing Chicken” instead, shall we? Although that kind of sounds like a bad Chinese translation of something. Anyway. I did everything exactly as called for in this recipe with the exception of the mustard, which I cut way back on as we use extra spicy Dijon mustard. I added about 3 tablespoons worth.

Recipe 2: Mashed Cauliflower with Hazelnut Brown Butter

This was so completely delicious that I never want to eat mashed potatoes again. I’m all about the mashed cauliflower. Even if you don’t normally like cauliflower, I can pretty much guarantee that you will like this. I didn’t have any hazelnuts so I used sliced almonds instead, and it was perfect.

Recipe 3: The Ultimate Kale Salad

This is pretty much our go-to kale salad these days, but the flavors worked especially great with this meal. I usually only make enough for us to eat at one meal as the greens don’t keep once they’re dressed, so I would cut her recipe down based on how much kale you eat at one sitting. (Which may be a whole head, for all I know. For us, we eat about a quarter of a head.) This is important because I’ve made this salad with a heavy dressing-to-kale ratio and it wasn’t as good. Go easy on the dressing, and be sure to slice the kale very finely. Also, kale likes you to give it a little massage once it’s dressed. Don’t we all? You haven’t lived until you’ve found yourself watching a ‘How to Massage Kale’ video in the middle of the afternoon.

I hope you will enjoy this meal as much as we did!

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

7 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Party in My Mouth Meal

  1. Shaina

    Oh my, this all sounds unbelievably delicious. I’m a huge fan of mashed cauliflower and will definitely be checking this out! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Laurie C

    Love the sound of all three things and the combination on the plate! Yummy! (We like to use heavy cream instead of low-fat substitute stuff, too, but try to eat less at a sitting than we used to, as an accession to age.)

    Reply
  3. Beth F

    I was waiting for this post! Don’t you love it when you make a meal that gets devoured all in one go? I’m bookmarking all these recipes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

