Readers’ Workouts: Week One

ReadersWorkoutsAs part of my 40×40 personal challenge, I’ve included a few fitness-related items that I hope to accomplish before my 40th birthday. These include learning how to swim properly, developing a daily yoga practice, being able to complete an unsupported headstand, running a 5K, and taking a barre class.

For the past few years, my main physical activity has been vinyasa yoga, which has changed my life in many positive ways. I love taking yoga classes, but I’ve had a harder time developing a regular yoga routine at home, mainly because I haven’t made time for it in my daily schedule. This is the number one fitness goal I have for the coming year, and I’ve already taken a few steps to help me accomplish it.

First, I moved my yoga mat upstairs to my bedroom so I can see it when I wake up (instant reminder!). I also hope to make this corner of my room into a kind of meditation/practice space. I practiced for 40 minutes there this morning and it has a good feel to it, being right next to the window and having plenty of space to move around. I need to find a way to get some music there, though, and I need to schedule a definite time to practice everyday.

I’m going to try to participate in Joy’s Readers’ Workouts every week to keep myself accountable about the progress I make towards my goals. Thanks for helping to keep me motivated, Joy!

6 thoughts on “Readers’ Workouts: Week One

  1. Geoff W

    Yay yoga! I really need to try and get back into it even though it’s been years. I still remember that smooth calm feeling 😀 Also if you get desperate for a swim instructor teaching adults was my favorite part of doing it when I was getting my (now well beyond expired) certificate!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I definitely recommend yoga–I’m a bit of a fervent disciple when it comes to talking up the benefits! I didn’t know that you had been a swim instructor. This is probably one of the things on my list that I’m the most nervous about, as I’m very uncoordinated (yes, an uncoordinated yogini) and don’t like getting water in my nose. Ugh. Hopefully I can find a patient teacher. 😉

      Reply
  2. joyweesemoll

    Your yoga space sounds lovely. I also like music in my exercise space. My husband laughs at me, but I sometimes do yoga with headphones because that’s the best way to get sound without disturbing him.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I don’t think that’s silly at all–it probably helps you focus even more and block out the rest of the world. Knowing me, though, I would get all tangled up in my headphone cord. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

