Classics Club: February Meme

classics_club_buttonAlthough my Classics Club reading has dropped off the face of the Earth lately, I’m still considering myself a member and hanging in there. I keep telling myself that I will be able to make it a priority again soon, and I hope that’s true.

In any case, there’s a great question for the monthly members’ meme this month (alliteration, yay!).

What about modern classics? Pick a book published since 2000 and say why you think it will be considered as a “classic” in the future.

Two books automatically came to mind for me when I read this question, but when I checked the publication dates I saw that the first–Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day–was published in 1989 so it doesn’t count. Can we do a post-1980 question? I have a lot more books I would add to the list within those parameters.

The second book I thought of does fit, though, as it was published in 2004: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. This book blew me away when I first read it, as the writing is just simply, stunningly beautiful. It also won a whole bunch of awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for fiction and the National Book Critics Circle award for fiction. But don’t just take my word for how good it is. Add it to your Classics Club list today! 🙂

gilead

10 thoughts on “Classics Club: February Meme

  1. Geoff W

    Whoa Gilead?! I read it a few years ago and was not impressed. It’s one of those I might have to revisit in quite a few years in hopes that my mindset/maturity/whatever have changed. I’ve heard great things about it and it’s such a big award winner and all I could think was “I don’t get it.”

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      It’s one of those books that you really have to take your time with, I think. I did and I’m so glad because I found it amazing, but it demands a lot of focus and attention.

      Reply
  2. Anne

    I’m thinking I need to reread Gilead. Perhaps I was in a sour mood when I read it because I just don’t remember it at all except that i wondered what was so special about it. Thanks for this nudge. I have just resolved to reread it.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I do think it’s a book that requires a lot of focus, but it’s worth it in the end. Of course, not every book is right for everyone, so this may just be one that doesn’t do it for you. I hope you get something positive out of your reread.

      Reply
  3. Lynn

    I love Marilynne Robinson’s writing and definitely consider her books to be classics. Loved Gilead and Home, and am looking forward to reading Lila. Her writing style is beyond lyrical, in my opinion. I can see how many might not like it. One of my good friends, an avid reader, couldn’t get through it. It’s a matter of individual preference for likability, but I would definitely agree that her books are Classics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

