The January Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upWhat? You say it’s been February for over a week already? Surely you jest.

Actually, I feel like I’m doing pretty good by getting this up at all, considering the cray-cray craziness of the past few weeks. I finally started to get some response about jobs I had applied for, including one for teaching in a public school (which is what I would really like to be doing). To make a long story short, I had the interview, got a positive response the next day, and have been jumping through hoops ever since. Although I have many years of teaching experience overseas, I’ve never been certified in the U.S., so I had to take (and pay for, ouch) several tests before I could be officially eligible for employment.

After a week’s worth of cramming, I aced my content assessment (woo hoo!) and now I just have to wait a few weeks for the official results to be sent. In the meantime, the principal of my new school wants me to start as a substitute because apparently they are a bit desperate to get me in the job, which is flattering but a little unnerving, too. It’s all happening so fast, and while I don’t relish the idea of bringing home a substitute teacher’s salary even temporarily, it should be worth it in the end when I can make it a permanent gig.

In between all this scrambling, I got a call about ANOTHER job I had applied for, so I’m going to at least go to the interview because I feel like I should.

So that’s my life at the moment, and suffice it to say my reading has suffered as a result. I started off the month strong but the past couple of weeks have just been a blur and I’ve had a hard time focusing on any one book. In January, I finished five books, two of which I read with my daughters and one that’s a graphic novel:

  1. Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
  2. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley
  3. The BFG by Roald Dahl
  4. Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon Hale
  5. A Matter of Mercy by Lynne Hugo

My favorite was definitely Relish, which I found really fun and inspiring. I’ve checked out two of Knisley’s other graphic novels (French Milk and Age of License) and I highly recommend her to anyone who is a graphic novel newbie and looking for a fun way to dip their toes in the pond.

So far February has started out very, very slowly but I’m hoping that once I’ve had time to settle in to my new job I’ll be able to get back in the swing of things.

I hope everyone had a great reading month in January and that February is shaping up nicely for you as well!

6 thoughts on “The January Wrap-Up

  1. Louise

    Oh, wow! Congrats on the job offer & the interview, too. That’s really amazing.

    I’ve got Relish on my to-read list this year. I keep hearing such great things about it. If you like graphic novels revolving around food, try the manga “Not Love But Delicious Foods” by Fumi Yoshinaga.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, Louise. I’m really excited but a little nervous about the new job, too.

      And thanks for the recommendation–I’ll have to add that one to my TBR list. 😉

      Reply
  2. Geoff W

    That’s awesome, especially about the second interview call! And you’re absolutely right to pursue both until you get a final offer letter from the first 😀 Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

