Currently…

currentlyI’m pretty sure that if I can make it to the end of this school year and still have a blog to speak of (and my sanity intact) it will be something of a miracle. I’m still here, just struggling. But here.

Loving: The fact that I’m about to be on spring break–only four more work days and then a whole week off. We’re going to the beach, and I cannot wait.

Thinking about: How all I wanted for this new year was to find a job, and now that I have one all I want is to NOT have this job anymore. I need to be more self aware and make choices that are not based on pure logic and my perpetual need to do what is “right” instead of what is right for me. I need to listen a little better to my inner voice.

Anticipating: Spring break (yay!). Hopefully getting in some long walks on the beach and spending some quality time as a family.

Watching: ‘Parks and Recreation’. SO MUCH LOVE for this show. Leslie is my new idol. I’m in the middle of season three and she’s just been approached about potentially running for office and even though I know it’s going to wreck things for her and Ben and break my heart, too, I can’t help but be so proud of her for being a role model for strong women everywhere. Yes, I realize this is a comedy and I’m taking it way too seriously, but it’s just that awesome.

Listening to: Coldplay. I borrowed the latest one from the library and really liked it, which led me to realize that I had actually bought the one before the last one and never listened to it. Huh? So I’ve been breaking it out in the car.

Eating: Anything and everything to try and keep up my energy levels. I’m probably snacking way more than I should be.

Wishing: That there were more hours in the day. That I could somehow do everything that I need to do and everything I want to do, too. That weekends could last a little longer…*this is basically a repeat from my last currently post, but it’s still so very true*

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend as much as I am!

9 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Silver's Reviews

    I taught for 34 years. It is a rewarding but very tough profession…..lots of work and lots of stress.

    It is difficult when you first start out, but stick with it.

    What subject do you teach?

    I am sure you will hang in there until the end of the year.

    There is a giveaway for Whisper Hollow on my blog…stop by if you like. It might cheer you up.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks for your encouragement, Elizabeth. I have so much admiration for teachers who are able to stick it out for the long haul. I’ve actually taught (off and on) for about 16 years, but this experience has been so different from my previous ones that it has really knocked me for a loop. I’m teaching 6th grade social studies in a transitional area and I’m having a lot of behavioral problems with the kids. It’s so hard. I’m trying to focus on the positive interactions I have with students and not let myself get overwhelmed, but it’s a daily battle.

      Reply
  2. Geoff W

    OMG LOVE LOVE LOVE Parks and Recreation! You’ll have to blog when you reach the final season! And I know what you mean about the “right now” vs. “right for me” decisions. I hope things even out, and either way you’ll be at the beach this time next week so that’s ALWAYS a plus!

    Reply
  3. Shaina

    The big thing I struggle with is even KNOWING what’s “right for me.” I’d love to pick it – I just haven’t figured it out yet!

    I hope you’re enjoying your vacation and get some well-deserved rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

