The June Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upIt’s been several months since I did a ‘Wrap-Up’ post, so I’m going to quickly recap what I’ve been reading since February. The stats for March and April should tell you something about what a stress nightmare those two months were for me. When I’m not reading, something is WRONG.

Things have picked up since school let out in May, and I’m back to reading at pre-nightmare levels once more. All is right with the world again.

Sigh of relief.

Books read:

March – The Red Umbrella by Christina Diaz Gonzalez

April – Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls (audio)

May – The Distance by Helen Giltrow
           The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
           The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes
           The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling (audio)

June – An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon
           Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon
           The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
           Euphoria by Lily King
A Killing in the Hills by Julia Keller

I might possibly finish another book before the day is out, but I’m not counting on it so I won’t add it in just yet. The best of the bunch was probably Euphoria by Lily King which I was absolutely fascinated by and devoured in less than a day. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver is also excellent and a must read for anyone interested in America during the 1950’s and McCarthyism. It wasn’t at all what I expected, but it’s a very impressive book.

I hope everyone had a good reading month in June and that your summer is going along swimmingly. 🙂

13 thoughts on “The June Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      Kimba, I loved the first one but didn’t enjoy the later books as much. Still, it was one of those series where I had to keep reading to know what was going to happen.

      Reply
  1. Geoff W

    I can’t wait to read Harkness’s trilogy! What’d you think of The Casual Vacancy, I know a lot of people were not impressed, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. And glad to hear you’re doing better, I noticed you were gone, but missed the 6/20 post!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Geoff, I really liked ‘The Casual Vacancy’ and the audio narration was fantastic. I got totally caught up in all the drama of Pagford. My husband and I listened to it around the same time so it was fun to compare our reactions to different scenes. He sent me a text at one point that said, “Pagford is exploding!” 🙂

      My favorite character was Samantha, who I found so sympathetic and hilarious. Best line of the book for me: “She…[imagined] Miles watching them, furiously, through binoculars, from a distant pedalo.” The way the narrator read that line totally cracked me up.

      Reply
  2. JaneGS

    Those are some mighty hefty books you read in June! I’m an Outlander fan but I don’t think I could read both 7 and 8 back to back and in one month. I love B Kingsolver, and really enjoyed The Lacuna also–gave me so much to think about and I learned a lot.

    Never heard of Euphoria or Lily King, but sounds worth checking out.

    I love lists and wrap ups, btw!

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    It’s wonderful to hear that you’ve returned to your normal reading levels. I’ve had a somewhat rough couple of months too, and reading for fun took a backseat. I’m doing better now too, though I’m still choosing books that are more comfort than substance. I haven’t read any of the books you’ve listed here. Maybe I’ll try The Lacuna or Euphoria.

    Reply
  4. Bree @ The Things We Read

    You can tell your reading has picked up by reading 2 Gabaldon books in one month. That’s a lot of reading AND you read more besides those. Whoa!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I know, right? I think I was so relieved for the school year to be over that I immediately escaped into Gabaldon-land to decompress. 😉

      Reply
    1. Care

      Whoops – meant to say that I am NOT drawn to read Kingsolver – I feel like she has become preachy but I might be wrong. I’ve only read Poisonwood Bible.

      Reply
      1. Too Fond Post author

        I don’t know if I’d call her ‘preachy’ but she is definitely political. Since I tend to agree with her politics it doesn’t bother me, but I can see where some people wouldn’t appreciate it. For example, in The Lacuna she is writing about the McCarthyism of the 1950’s, but I could see a lot of parallels with the current political situation in the U.S. She doesn’t do it explicitly but the similarities are hard to ignore.

Leave a Reply

