The July Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upJuly was a good month, busy but with plenty of time for fun as well. We moved into our new house and have settled in nicely, the girls and I went swimming and to the movies and to an amusement park, and somehow I still found time to read!

In July, I finished four books:

  1. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith
  2. Bitter River by Julia Keller
  3. Summer of the Dead by Julia Keller
  4. Faithful Place by Tana French

If you’re familiar at all with the authors on this list, you’ll see that these books all fit into the mystery/detective novel genre. Clearly, I’ve been on a kick! My favorite was The Silkworm, which is the second novel that J.K. Rowling has written under the pen name Robert Galbraith. This book did exactly what I was hoping it would do, which was flesh out the characters introduced in the first novel (especially Robin), and now I can’t wait to read the third book (due out this fall).

The girls start back to school next week and I’m hoping to kick my job search up a notch. I would appreciate any good job vibes you could send my way–I’m so ready to be back to work and doing something I enjoy. I’ve applied for a couple of things that look interesting, so fingers crossed…

Other than that, I don’t have any big plans for August. I’m planning to attend the Decatur Book Festival again this year but it’s been moved to the first weekend in September. There are going to be some great authors, though, so if you live anywhere near Atlanta I highly recommend it. Erica Jong and Roxane Gay are going to be giving the keynote, which reminds me that I need to move Roxane Gay up my TBR pile.

Hope everyone enjoys the last month of the summer *sniff* and happy reading!

6 thoughts on “The July Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks! It is very busy, but the kids seem to be excited so hopefully we’ll all be able to get back in the routine without too much trouble.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

