Currently…

currently

It’s been a while since I checked in with a ‘Currently’ post, so I thought I would talk a little about what I’ve been up to lately. I haven’t been reading too much this past week but there are plenty of other things taking over my brain…

Loving: That I’ve been sticking with my menu planning for almost a month now. I don’t always follow my plan to the letter but it is definitely cutting down on the number of times we eat out and I’m feeling less stressed about what I’m going to put on the table.

Thinking about: A job offer that I turned down this week. It was a hard decision to make but I weighed the pros and cons, talked to my husband, and decided that it wasn’t the right choice for me.

Anticipating: The Decatur Book Festival. an upcoming weekend away with my husband, and a camping trip with my daughters. So many good things to look forward to.

Watching: ‘Alone’. Did you guys watch this show on the History Channel? It was so good! I won’t spoil it by telling you who wins, but I found it to be such a thought-provoking and inspiring show.

Listening to: Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle on audiobook. I’ve only listened to one cd but I’m finding it intriguing.

Eating: Good things, mostly. This morning I went to buy doughnuts for a Saturday morning breakfast treat, and they were yummy. Tomorrow I’m making a sausage and kale soup in the slow cooker.

Wishing: That the right opportunity would come along and that my path would appear before me, clearly lit and well-blazed. I’m not good with uncertainty.

Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend and enjoying every moment of this last month of summer.

7 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Laurie C

    Uncertainty is so unsettling! But it does come with the territory, doesn’t it? I love the Currently posts, and I’d forgotten about the White Wolf in Van book. I think I’ve read another book by that author and meant to read this one too. Maybe I’ll look for the audio!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I just finished WiWV yesterday and I honestly can’t say if I would recommend it or not. It’s well written but baffling in many ways, and I’m just not sure I ‘got’ it.

      Reply
  2. Geoff W

    It stinks that you had to turn down a job offer, but the good part is that you’re confident enough in your self and comfortable enough in your situation that you didn’t desperately need the job! I also think I need to get back on the meal-planning process because I’ve been spending too much and not eating healthy enough.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      It know I’m lucky to have the choice to take a job or not, but there are so many factors going into my decision that it makes it hard to feel like I’ll ever find the right thing. Trying to stay optimistic…

      Reply
  3. Ti

    It’s hard when we have to make these kinds of decisions but there will be another offer and it will be just what you are looking for. Stay firm. You know yourself best and what will work and what won’t.

    I haven’t been doing menu planning but after my doc appt last week I am forcing myself to eat better. I eat fairly well. I don’t eat junk food, no sweets either but I tend to eat too much of one thing so I am cutting back on food and coffee and today I have a massive headache to show for it. Ugh.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks for the encouragement–I need it!

      Hope you get your food issues sorted out and are feeling better soon, Ti. I am so affected by the things that I eat that I have to be really careful, too.

      Reply
  4. Fay

    I really do need to sort myself out with meal planning. We usually last about a week or two then give up!

    I really do hope that things sort themselves out for you soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

