Library Loot: August 26 – Sept 1

badge-4Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Hello, my name is Beth and I’m a library addict. I know, I know. I just can’t help myself, especially when I’m home during the day and have plenty of time to indulge all my interests and hobbies and “oh, wouldn’t I just love to know more about this and that” tendencies.

The books with the red stickers are recent ones which means I can’t keep them out of the library as long, so I’ll have to finish those first. I’m proud of the diversity in the mix, though, with some fiction and non-fiction and even a graphic novel thrown in there for fun.

August 2015 002

So here’s what I’ve got on the shelf for this week:

  1. The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed by Jessica Lahey. A writer whose work I admire recommended this and I’m finding it interesting so far. I don’t think of myself as a ‘helicopter’ parent, but I do help my children more than I should, and as my oldest just started middle school I need a timely reminder to take a step back and let her successes and her failures be her own.
  2. Black Dove White Raven by Elizabeth Wein. I’ve loved other books by Wein but I’m having a hard time getting into this latest one for some reason. This is actually the second time I’ve checked out this book, so I may need to try the audio instead.
  3. Run You Down by Julia Dahl. The second installment in a mystery series about a young reporter with roots in the New York Hasidic community. The first one was just okay, I thought, but I’m a sucker for a series.
  4. Last Ragged Breath by Julia Keller. Another series book, this one being the fourth novel in the Bell Elkins series about a West Virginia county prosecutor.
  5. Living with a Wild God by Barbara Ehrenreich. I don’t really talk about religion here, but I grew up as a preacher’s kid in the Deep South. Since I’ve been an adult, I think I would best classify myself as a ‘seeker’–I’m not a fan of organized religion (for lots of reasons I won’t go into here) but I do believe we all have a spiritual connection to each other and the universe as a whole. Ehrenreich’s latest book is about her own quest for Truth.
  6. The Path of Druidery: Walking the Ancient Green Way by Penny Billington. See above. 🙂
  7. Doodle Stitching: Embroidery and Beyond by Aimee Ray. I checked this one out because it has a pattern for a quilt I’m going to make for my soon-to-arrive niece, Guilia. (Shhh, it’s a surprise!)
  8. French Milk by Lucy Knisley. I just love her graphic novels about life and traveling and art. They make me homesick for Europe, but in a good way.
  9. And finally…How to Raise a Wild Child by Scott Sampson. I’m trying to work on spending more (and quality) nature time with my kids and to encourage their own love of the outdoors. I’m hoping to find some good ideas here.

What are you reading this week? Any good ‘loot’ from your local library?

6 thoughts on “Library Loot: August 26 – Sept 1

  1. Laurie C

    I finally listened to Code Name Verity this summer! Wow! It was fantastic on audio. I have the sequel (I think) on audio thanks to the SYNC program this summer (2 free audiobooks a week to download) so I think you’re right that audio might be the way to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

