The (August and) September Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upTime flies when you’re having fun, right? I honestly don’t know where the time has gone since school started back in August. With the addition of Girl Scouts and other outside activities, our calendar has been pretty full.

But I’m not complaining. As much as I love having downtime, it’s been nice to get back into a routine and I’ve been having a lot of fun, so the saying must be true. In addition to reading, I finished FIVE things on my 40×40 list (woohoo!) The pictures below sum those up pretty nicely.

In August and September, I read eight books:

  1. Broken Harbor by Tana French
  2. Invisible City by Julia Dahl
  3. An Age of License by Lucy Knisley
  4. Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle
  5. French Milk by Lucy Knisley
  6. Run You Down by Julia Dahl
  7. The Secret Place by Tana French
  8. Last Ragged Breathe by Julia Keller

The one thing I could say overall is that with each of these author’s books I’ve read, they just keep getting better. Both the Dahl, French, and Keller books are in a series, with each book being stronger than the last. Knisley, who writes graphic novels, shows a marked improvement in her later works; French Milk was her first and it definitely showed. The one exception to that is John Darnielle. Wolf in White Van is the only book I’ve read by him so I can’t judge the rest of his writing, but in this case one was enough. I found WIWV (which received a lot of critical attention and praise) to be incredibly depressing. Not recommended.

Coming up in October, I’ve got a pretty blank slate, reading-wise. Plenty of room for surprises. On the 40×40 front, I’m taking my girls camping for the first time towards the end of the month and I’m almost finished making a quilt for my new niece. I’ll leave you with some photos of the things I got to check off recently!

Hope everyone has a great October and happy reading!

8 thoughts on “The (August and) September Wrap-Up

  1. Trish

    Submit a piece of writing for a publication!! That sounds very exciting! And I can’t believe you’re almost done with your quilt. I’m great about starting those kinds of projects…but not so much with the finishing of them. 🙂

    I just finished my first Tana French a month or so ago and look forward to reading more by her. I’ve heard that the books just keep getting better. And totally agree with Knisley. I didn’t like French Milk as much but have enjoyed everything since then. Happy October!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’ve been dragging my feet on finishing the binding, but I’m determined to finish it soon! I actually have another friend who is pregnant and they’re asking crafty friends and family to make a quilted circle that will be part of a larger quilt, so I’ll have that one to work on as well. Should be fun. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Geoff W

    Congrats on the 40×40 list! I’ve actually just started building mine after almost a year of not thinking about it since I completed my 30×30 🙂 Hope you have an exciting fall coming up.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Yeah! I’m having so much fun with the list and although it doesn’t look like I’ve done much so far, I’ve been making progress towards so many of them. It really is helping me to focus on what I want to do/accomplish.

      Reply
  3. Care

    Really cool about your 40×40 project (am about to go look at it more closely as soon as I finish this comment). And you read some hot books – I haven’t read any of those but have the Tana French books on my tbr. If you are looking for books to read in October (ahem), why not join us for ‘Salem’s Lot?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

