A Blogging Farewell

If 2015 taught me anything, it’s that I don’t blog when I’m stressed. It’s like my brain just has no extra energy to spend on reflection, or making connections, or general frivolity. Instead it goes into autopilot, only focusing on the next immediate thing that needs to get done, until it crashes and I end up sprawled on the couch, binge-watching Veronica Mars for the 17th time (I may exaggerate, but you get the idea.)

I went through some tough periods last year, and I even stopped reading for a while. Luckily I managed to get back into the reading groove, but the enjoyment I used to get from blogging about books and being part of the book-blogging community just went away. To be honest, it’s still gone, and I’m not sure that it is coming back. I just don’t feel the need for it anymore, and let’s face it–I was only ever doing it for myself, anyway.

I still enjoy writing, and I will always love reading, but I think the blogging part of that is pretty much over. Thanks to those of you who stopped by over the years and kept me company here, for sharing bits of yourselves and your own love for the world of books. I wish you all the best in your own future projects, whatever they may be, and I wish you happy reading.

13 thoughts on “A Blogging Farewell

  1. Leeswammes

    What a pity! I know what you mean, though, because I haven’t got much energy for blogging either. I do read, but don’t feel like writing reviews. My blog is no longer a priority.

    Best of luck with everything you’re doing!

    Reply
  2. Geoff W

    Sorry to see you go! Hope you have a great 2016 and beyond. May all your wishes and dreams (and those of your family you blogged about) come true and all that jazz in the future 😀

    Reply
  3. thewrredhead

    Sorry to see you go! Though I completely understand. My blogging has stepped way back as well. Do what makes you happy!!

    Reply
  4. Brona

    Everything we do in this crazy thing called life has a season or a reason. It sounds like your season and reason for blogging has waned.
    Sorry to see you go, but I’m glad you’re still popping up and keeping in touch on our blogs 🙂

    Good luck with your next venture xo

    Reply
  5. Laurie C

    i’m just seeing this now, so I’m sorry not to come and say goodbye sooner! I’m sorry to hear about your stressful time and pleas know we’ll welcome you with open arms if you decide someday to come back! I will miss your posts but hope to see you around elsewhere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

