Review: My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

not-so-perfect-lifeLength: 368 pages

Publication: February 7th, 2017 by Bantam Press

Source: Random House

What it’s about:
Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams? Or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman with everything – have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?

What I thought:
I have a weakness for Sophie Kinsella novels, mainly because of their spunky main characters, comical scenarios, and light touch with romance. However, the last one I had read (Wedding Night) was a bust for me, so this upcoming one wasn’t even on my radar until I received a free review copy from Random House. I started reading it over Thanksgiving break and it was exactly the kind of book I needed–fun and zippy and satisfying.

I particularly liked the way the book skewers our social media culture, which encourages people to depict their lives through a rosy filter. In reality, no one’s life is perfect, and Katie learns this is true not only for herself but for those she has put on a pedestal as well. The scenes where Katie gets revenge on her oh-so-perfect boss by using her own worship of the latest fads and buzzwords against her are pure poetic justic.

There were certain fairy-tale elements to Katie’s happy ending that stretched belief, but overall the story shows us that if you work hard, treat others fairly, and stand up for yourself, you can make your own dreams come true. The book doesn’t take itself too seriously, though, and it’s laugh outloud funny at times. Recommended.

Thanks so much to Random House for providing me with a copy of this book.

4 thoughts on “Review: My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Care

    I can see how you might be wary – Kinsella has become so prolific, she is sure to have some ‘not-quite-hits’, right? AND I know I have not given her the benefit of the doubt. I have only read one of hers but was pleasantly surprised. Glad this one worked for you. 🙂

    Reply
      1. Too Fond Post author

        Thanks. 🙂 I haven’t read everything by her but I do usually enjoy her standalone books. Twenties Girl and Can You Keep a Secret are both really good.

  2. Pingback: The November Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

