The November Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-up

About a year ago I stopped blogging, and that was absolutely the right thing for me to do. Since then, we found out my husband’s company was closing their Atlanta office, we debated staying in the U.S. or going back to the job that was waiting for him in France, and we ultimately decided to move back.

We returned to France in July, and life since then has been a whirlwind. We looked for a house, lived in a temporary apartment while waiting, then finally closed on a house and moved in early October. The girls started new schools and I adjusted to working from home (temporarily) until I can look for a new job. We started over, again.

Starting over is something we have some practice doing, although it never really gets easier. I tend to go into survival mode until the worst of the stress is behind me, and I think I’m just finally starting to come out of that. I’m feeling more like myself than I have in a while, and I truly think this move will end up being the right thing for us. Transitions are hard, though, especially for an introvert. I turn to reading as an escape, so I’ve been doing a lot of it these past months.

In November, I finished four books:

The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

I enjoyed all of these, though the last two were probably the best of the lot. Pretty Girls is a solid Slaughter book–if you’ve read her before, you know what you’re getting. The two Kearsley novels were not bad but not great, either. The Shadowy Horses feels like an early novel, and A Desperate Fortune is better written but really dragged for me, particularly in the sections that were set in 1700’s France.

As I’m slowing starting to feel settled, blogging again feels right. I don’t know if this will be a long-term thing but I’m glad to be writing again, for now.

Wishing you a magical December and a very happy holiday season. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “The November Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

