Library Loot: June 14 – June 21

badge-4Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Because I get most of my English-language books through the digital library, I’m never sure exactly when my books on hold will become available. Sometimes I’ll have a long stretch with nothing followed by a period when everything comes in at the same time. The latter happened this past week, and as a result I have so much reading goodness that I don’t even know where to begin. If you need me, I’ll be outside in the hammock–reading, of course.

Here’s what I’ve got on the shelf for this week:

  1. News of the World by Paulette Jiles. I’ve seen this book recommended on several blogs and lists, and I’m actually about halfway through it at the moment. So far, so good.
  2. The Alice Network by Kate Quinn. Another recommendation which is supposed to be a cracking good read. Female spies in France during WWI? Yes, please.
  3. Theft by Finding: Diaries 1977-2002 by David Sedaris. I love David Sedaris, and the NPR review of his newest book (it just came out at the end of May) called this collection of forty years’ worth of Sedaris’ diaries “as mesmerizing as a spinning chicken.” Who could resist that kind of endorsement?
  4. Born a Crime by Trevor Noah. This is one I’ve been meaning to read for a while now. I haven’t watched ‘The Daily Show’ since he took over as host so I don’t know a lot about Noah, but I’ve heard good things about this memoir of his childhood in South Africa.
  5. The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. This is one of those books that I came across while browsing on the library’s website and thought ‘Why not?’ I don’t remember hearing anything about it when it came out, but the premise of journalists working at an English-language newspaper in Rome sounds interesting.

What are you reading this week? Any good ‘loot’ from your local library?

6 thoughts on “Library Loot: June 14 – June 21

  1. Ti

    I have Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan from the library for book club. It’s good. I’ve read it before but need to skim it a little before the discussion. I just picked up American War which is on my list of summer reads.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

