The Summer Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upIt’s pretty clear from our weather this week–rain for the first time in months and cooler morning temperatures–that summer may officially be on its way out. I can’t say I’m too disappointed. We had such a hot, dry summer that I’m ready for a taste of fall.

The kids are back to school, the activities and appointments are starting up again, and life goes back to its regularly scheduled programming. We made the most of our summer, though, with the kids spending a month away from home with various relatives and my husband and I taking a couple of fun trips to music festivals.

Over the summer I also did a lot of reading, finishing eleven books in July and August. Amazingly enough, they were almost all really good (with only one stinker in the mix):

  1. Mrs. Fletcher by Tom Perrotta
  2. The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter
  3. When Breathe Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
  4. Glaciers by Alexis M. Smith
  5. Marrow Island by Alexis M. Smith
  6. The Reason You’re Alive by Matthew Quick
  7. The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson
  8. Blue Monday by Nicci French
  9. Heroes of the Frontier by Dave Eggers
  10. The Circle by Dave Eggers
  11. Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

My favorite new discovery of the summer was Alexis M. Smith, whose writing is just beautiful and impossible to put down. The new Matthew Quick and Joshilyn Jackson books are both wonderful (those are auto-buys for me), and I enjoyed getting into Dave Eggers’ writing.

The only one that really didn’t work for me was ‘When Breathe Becomes Air’, the autobiographical story of a young doctor who dies of stage IV cancer. His story is tragic, of course, but I didn’t gain any particular insights from reading it other than thinking he made some very questionable choices about how to spend the last years of his life. The book garnered a lot of praise and so it must have worked for some readers, but it didn’t for me.

Other than reading, I’ve also been working on crossing off some of the items on my 40×40 list. This month I’ve (finally) found a daily yoga and meditation practice that works for me. As some of you may know, I’ve been doing yoga for years but have struggled with making it a routine, made even more difficult now that we live in the country and I don’t have a local class to attend. I’ll write a longer post about this topic soon as I’d like to share with you some of what I found.

yoga

Wishing you a lovely September and peaceful transition to the autumn season. Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “The Summer Wrap-Up

  1. Ti

    You did well over the summer. I got to most of the books I wanted to read but it’s still 100 degrees here in So. Cal so it still feels like I have some summer reading to work in.

    Reply
  2. Laurie C

    I’ve been meaning to read When Nreath Becomes Air for a long time! I liked the new Joshilyn Jackson book and really really want to take home the library copy of Mrs. Fletcher but I’m trying to get through some I already have before I bring home more!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’d be interested to hear what you think of When Breathe Becomes Air. Mrs. Fletcher is a quick read–fun but slightly disturbing as Tom Perrotta’s books tend to be. You could probably bring it home for a night and have it back by the next morning. 😉

      Reply
  3. Geoff W

    That’s awesome about your 40×40 yoga practice! I’m working on my 40×40 list now and still trying to populate the last few spaces. I’ll have to check yours out.

    What are your thoughts on Eggers? I read a few books by him quite a few years ago but wasn’t all that enamored.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

