Nonfiction November – Become the Expert

images

For this third week of Nonfiction November, Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness is hosting the link-up post ‘Be the Expert/Ask the Expert/Become the Expert’. The prompt:

Three ways to join in this week! You can either share three or more books on a single topic that you have read and can recommend (be the expert), you can put the call out for good nonfiction on a specific topic that you have been dying to read (ask the expert), or you can create your own list of books on a topic that you’d like to read (become the expert).

I’ve decided to combine ‘Become the Expert’ with ‘Ask the Expert,’ as I already have several books to read on a topic but would love additional suggestions to add to my list. My topic is raising children with an awareness and understanding of nature. Basically, I want to figure out how to cultivate our family’s relationship with nature. We go hiking and live in a rural area but aren’t really “outdoorsy,” and this is something that I feel is even more important to stress as my children are getting older and as we’re becoming more disconnected.

The books I currently have on my shelf on this topic include:

last-child-in-the-woods

Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children From Nature-Deficit Disorder

by Richard Louv

I’ve had this book on my shelf for a looong time and yet somehow never managed to do more than read the first chapter or so. Since it came out almost ten years ago, this is obviously a subject that has been on my mind for a while. I really need to read this one.

home-grpwm

Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World

by Ben Hewitt

I’m not looking to home school or unschool my kids, but I’ve heard good things about this book that recounts one family’s experience getting back to living in tune with nature. Even if it doesn’t replace a traditional classroom, the natural world has so many lessons to teach (for kids and adults).

Portage: A Family, a Canoe, and the Search for the Good Lifeportage

by Sue Leaf

I ordered this book recently after reading a review of it on Kim’s blog. It recounts different outdoor trips that the author’s family takes over the course of 35 years. I’ve read the first few chapters already and I can safely say that Sue Leaf is way more of a outdoorswoman than I am, but I still think there are things I can take away from this one.

What about you? Are you an expert on a topic that you can share about? I would especially appreciate suggestions on my topic!

7 thoughts on “Nonfiction November – Become the Expert

  1. Anne@Headfullofbooks

    I don’t think I read enough about parenting when I was a young mother. I hope you get some good suggestions, however, since my daughter is now a young mother and I could pass along some titles to her…though parenting is so demanding I do recall going into a reading desert for a few years after my girls were born. I focused on Mental Illness for my list this week. Nonfiction November-3

    Reply
  2. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness)

    Haha, as soon as I saw your topic I thought “Oh! Portage would be good!” because I am a weird evangelist for that book. So, I am glad to see you included it! She’s definitely more oudoors-y than me, but I feel like there are some good takeaways from the book regardless. Glad you could join us for Nonfiction November this week!

    Reply
  3. Angela

    What a great topic. I love the outdoors, and I got that love from my dad. It’s something I would want to pass down to any kids I might have. I haven’t read it yet, but I did purchase this book for my dad: “Braving It” by James Campbell, it’s about a father and daughter who travel and work in Alaska.

    Reply
  4. Kristilyn

    These sound really good! We live in nature but we have winter for 6 months of the year which makes it hard to get outside, especially with really little kids. But maybe one of these books will help me figure out more ways to experience nature with them!

    Reply
  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings

    Do you know How to Raise a Wild Child? That might be a good addition. The author is the guy from the PBS series Dinosaur Train. The one point he made that stuck with me is that if we don’t teach our children to appreciate and love nature, then we can’t expect them to be good stewards of our planet when they are older.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

