The Summer Wrap-Up

monthly-wrap-upLong time no see! I really thought this thing was done, but I guess all it took was a global pandemic, a leisurely few weeks off from work, and a glut of reading to make me feel the need to write again. Whatever works, right?

Not surprisingly, I’ve been reading a lot of “comfort” fiction lately. And I do mean a lot–almost 20 books in the past two months, and August isn’t even finished yet.

  1. Untamed by Glennon Doyle
  2. Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust
  3. Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed
  4. Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally
  5. The Two Lives of Lydia Byrd by Josie Silver
  6. The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary
  7. Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid
  8. The Yellow House by Sarah M. Broom
  9. Saints and Misfits by S. K. Ali
  10. Empire of Wild by Cherie Dimaline
  11. Late to the Party by Kelly Quindlen
  12. Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust
  13. Would I Lie to the Duke by Eva Leigh
  14. The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter
  15. You Should See Me in a Crown by Leigh Johnson
  16. What You Wish For by Katherine Center
  17. Remain Silent by Susie Steiner
  18. The Bright Side of Disaster by Katherine Center
  19. The Lost Husband by Katherine Center

As you can see, I’ve been on a Katherine Center kick recently, as her books are just fitting perfectly with my mood and what I need at the moment. I still have three from her backlist that I want to read but I have to wait my turn at the library, as I think there are a lot of people out there who need comfort reads right now.

I can honestly say that I enjoyed every book on this list, although a few have stayed with me longer and are really thought provoking, including Untamed, Girls Made of Snow and Glass, Such a Fun Age and The Yellow House.

As I’ve fallen out of the blogging habit, I haven’t been participating in any challenges either. I did create my own challenge after I got on a Haruki Murakami kick a while back, and I’m planning to read most of his backlist. I researched online and have come up with a general order that I’d like to follow.

Other than reading, I’ve gotten into a good exercise habit over the last year or so. I started jogging last summer after downloading the “Couch to 5K” app and I can now run a 5K regularly, usually running 2-3 times a week. I haven’t been doing yoga as much, but when I do practice it’s Yoga with Adrienne videos on YouTube.

It’s hard to make plans when things are still so uncertain (for all of us), but I’m hoping to start playing the clarinet again this year after a 30+ year hiatus. More on that to come…

Wishing you a smooth and healthy transition to the new school year and season. Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “The Summer Wrap-Up

  1. Laurie C

    Welcome back! I’ve been trying to get back to blogging more frequently. Somehow with working F/T from home and now back in the library and with all the virtual activities and outdoor classes I’ve had a busier summer than I expected! I read a couple of Katherine Center’s books and they are good for boosting hope and optimism! Congratulations on the Couch to 5K! That’s amazing.

    Reply
  2. Geoff W

    I get you on the comfort reading, the number of romances I have read since the start of the pandemic is astounding. I’m talking double digits maybe approaching 50. At this point I’m thinking who cares and leaning into it 😀

    Reply
  3. Ti

    You may remember my love for Murakami. Gosh, I love his writing so much. Welcome back! Not much has changed really. Many bloggers have been taking a break since March. I kept going but just post when I want to. No schedule. Reading has been good. So many good books this year.

    Reply

Leave a comment