My Year in Books – 2017

year-in-booksEven though we still have a few weeks left in 2017, Goodreads was kind enough to send my ‘Year in Books’ review. I made a conscious effort to read more widely this year and I think it shows. I also did very few reviews and focused on reading for pleasure, and I’m happy to say that my overall satisfaction with what I read reflects that.

Here are some of the highlights:

  • Number of books read – 56
  • Number of pages read – 18,708
  • Shortest book – Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson
  • Longest book – The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
  • Number of books with 5-star ratings – 15
  • Favorite fiction book(s) of the year – The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach and My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent (I can’t choose!)
  • Favorite nonfiction book of the year – Just Kids by Patti Smith
  • Percentage of fiction books – 84%
  • Percentage of nonfiction books – 16%
  • Percentage of male authors – 35%
  • Percentage of female authors – 65%

If you want to see the whole list, feel free to check out my Goodreads page.

What about you? What were some of your reading highlights and accomplishments for 2017?

2 thoughts on “My Year in Books – 2017

    1. Too Fond Post author

      I actually really enjoyed it. It’s the only one I’ve read by him but from what I’ve heard it’s much more accessible than Cloud Atlas. It also has some recurring characters that you’ll recognize if you’ve read his other novels. I read it as part of a readalong and we had a lot of fun discussing the crazy twists and turns of the story.

      Reply

Leave a comment